CAW Blog

The College of Animal Welfare

RCVS Council election candidates and new VN Council member announced


The Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS) has announced the candidates standing in the 2019 RCVS Council elections.

There are nine candidates standing in this year’s RCVS Council election. They are:

  • Dr Linda Belton MRCVS
  • Dr Niall Connell MRCVS
  • Mr John C Davies MRCVS
  • Dr Joanna (Jo) Dyer MRCVS
  • Professor Timothy (Tim) Greet FRCVS
  • Professor John Innes FRCVS
  • Dr Thomas (Tom) Lonsdale MRCVS
  • Dr Katherine (Kate) Richards MRCVS
  • Mr Peter Robinson MRCVS

Ballot papers and candidate details for the RCVS Council election are due to be posted and emailed to all veterinary surgeons eligible to vote during the week commencing 25 March. All votes must be cast, either online or by post, by 5pm on Friday 26 April 2019. For more information about each candidate, including biographies and statements, visit

In order to give the electorate the opportunity to learn more about why each candidate is standing and ask them for their views on particular issues, the college is inviting members of the profession to ask questions directly to the candidates. Each candidate will then produce a video recording their answers to two questions of their choice. Recordings will be published on the RCVS website and YouTube channel on the week the election commences.

Vets should email their question to or send it to the College’s Twitter account @theRCVS using the hashtag #vetvote19 by midday on Monday 4 March 2019.

New VN Council member announced

This year there will be no election for Veterinary Nurses (VN) Council as only two candidates – current VN Council Vice-Chair Liz Cox and newcomer Jane Davidson – stood for the two available places for elected members. Both Liz and Jane will start their three-year terms on VN Council at Royal College Day on Friday 12 July 2019.